Mid-Year Book Tag

How is it July already??!! This year has flown by and I can’t believe that we are already halfway through. The good news is that I am ahead with my Goodreads reading goal – my goal is to read 100 books and I am on 80. Another good thing about it being the middle of the year is that lots of my favorite booktubers have made videos about their favorite books of the year so far (which are always my favorite videos to watch). I have also seen this tag floating around. I figured it might be more interesting to do this tag now and then do a proper list of my favorite reads at the end of the year, in case my favorites end up being really repetitive.

This tag actually has fifteen question but I am going to omit one of them (favorite review you’ve written this year) as it doesn’t really apply to me at present.

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2017.

I don’t think that I can narrow it down to just one… can we do it by genre?
Best non-fiction: Girls Will Be Girls by Emer O Toole
Best poetry: Hold Your Own by Kate Tempest
Best fiction: The Vegetarian by Han Kang and The Tidal Zone by Sarah Moss
Best Classic: I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith
Best Fantasy: Ship of Magic and The Mad Ship by Robin Hobb (books one and two of the Liveship Traders trilogy

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017.

I have started quite a few series so far in 2017 but I haven’t finished most of them. Some of the sequels are staring at me, quietly judging, from my shelves. Then there are a few that I, sadly, have no intention in continuing with. Out of the series that I have actually got around to continuing, the best sequel definitely has to be The Mad Ship by Robin Hobb. The Liveship Traders trilogy has been beyond brilliant so far and I am really looking forward to reading the final book in the series soon.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

The new release that I am most excited about is The Gender Games by Juno Dawson. I have seen so many good reviews floating around and the subject matter is right up my ally. I am dying to get my hands on a copy and I am pretty sure it is going to be a five star read for me.

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

I have to admit that I tend to be very behind on new releases. I tend to rely on booktubers reviews and physically seeing books in bookstores to find books that I want to read, which means that I rarely know what’s coming up. Sorry!

5. Biggest disappointment.

Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon has definitely been the worst book that I have read so far this year. I have so many issues with it but this probably isn’t the right post to rant in. The more I’ve thought about it, the more issues I have. Anyway, I will save that for another post and another day (apologies if you loved it).

The Black Prism by Brent Weeks was also a massive disappointment as I really thought that I would love the series that it is a part of. Sadly, it just wasn’t very well written. That feeling when you think you are going to love a book and then don’t is the worst.

6. Biggest surprise.

Definitely The Tidal Zone by Sarah Moss. It has been so hyped but I just wasn’t sure if it was going to be for me. I certainly wasn’t expecting to love it as much as I did. It is an absolute masterpiece of a novel. All of the hype is justified. Go read it.

7. Favorite new author. (Debut or new to you)

Robin Hobb (new to me). The fact that there are something like sixteen books in her Realm of the Elderlings series makes me very, very happy.

8. Newest fictional crush.

I don’t tend to have fictional crushes. Never really have.

9. Newest favorite character.

All of the characters in the Liveship Trader’s series are incredible. Sabriel (from Sabriel by Garth Nix) is also awesome, as is Karou from the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy (although I have only read the first book thus far). I seem to be finding all of my favorite characters in fantasy at the moment! That being said, Miriam and Adam from The Tidal Zone are also fantastic.

10. Book that made you cry.

The Unseen World by Liz Moore. This book is devastating and everything is brought together so beautifully at the end. It hasn’t quite made it onto my favorites list but I would still recommend it. Just maybe try to be in a good headspace when you read it.

11. Book that made you happy.

Adulthood Is A Myth by Sarah Anderson. This is a graphic novel/comic. It is just so adorable and relatable. It made me laugh out loud several times and is just a really happiness-inducing.

12. Favorite book to film adaptation you saw this year.

I’m not sure if I have seen any yet… I am a bit useless with my movie watching at the moment. I really want to see the adaption of A Monster Calls, though.

13. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

The UK cover for Strange, the Dreamer by Laini Taylor is absolutely gorgeous. As is the art in the graphic novel Jane, the Fox and Me. I am also pretty obsessed with the cover of The Vegetarian by Han Kang. Maybe I must do a post just on beautiful book covers because I could keep going!

14. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

I am hoping to read the last book in the Liveship Traders trilogy soon. I also need to finish the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy (two books to go). Beyond finishing series, my TBR is way too numerous to go into. I am definitely hoping for a few more five star reads, though.

Leave a Reply

